The SportingJournal

NRL Preview – Part 4

In the final instalment of our NRL preview, Nick Page takes
a look at the Rabbitohs, the Dragons, the Roosters and the Tigers.
South Sydney Rabbitohs For the South Sydney
Rabbitohs, 2012 was the year that they became a genuine threat to
winning the premiership. After kicking off their season with a
solid win over the Roosters tonight, South Sydney solidified their
spot as one of the teams to beat this season. The Rabbitohs are one
of the favourites to take out their 21st
premiership and their first since 1971. They boast a number of high
profile players at the club including Greg Inglis, Sam Burgess,
Michael Crocker and Adam Reynolds. Prediction:
5th Squad:
Andrew Everingham, Adam Reynolds, Jason Clark, Justin
Hunt, Michael Crocker, George Burgess, Sam Burgess,
Luke Burgess, Thomas Burgess, Greg Inglis,
Roy Asotasi, Shaune Corrigan, Dylan
Farrell, Matt King, Ben Lowe, Issac
Luke, Chris McQueen, Nathan
Merritt, Nathan Peats, Josh
Starling, John Sutton, David Tyrrell, Chris
Centrone, Luke Keary, Apisai
Koroisau, Kyle Turner, Greg Waddell, Deon
Apps, Fetuli Talanoa, Jordan
Tongahai, Neccron Areaiiti,
Ryan Carr, Jeff Lima, Ben Te’o, Mitchell Bucket, Bryson
Goodwin, Beau Champion. St. George Illawarra
The St. George Illawarra Dragons will start 2013
without the majority of their 2012 senior players, with captain Ben
Hornby, Dean Young and Josh Miller retiring from rugby league and
Beau Scott moving to the Newcastle Knights. It looms as a
rebuilding year for the club and they are looking for young players
such as Gerard Beale, Jack De Belin, Kyle Stanley and Mitch Rein to
step up to fill the shoes of the leaving squad members. New captain
Ben Creagh, Brett Morris, Nathan Fien, Matt Prior, Jason
Nightingale, Matt Cooper and Trent Merrin will be the senior
members of the squad and will need to have big years if the Dragons
have any chance of playing finals footy. Prediction:
11th Squad:
Cameron King, Trent Merrin, Brett Morris, Dan Hunt, Todd
Ryan, Atelea Vea, Leeson Ah Mau, Matt Cooper, Ben Creagh, Jack de
Belin, Nathan Fien, Bronx Goodwin, Will Matthews, Jason
Nightingale, Matt Prior, Mitch Rein, Jamie Soward, Chase Stanley,
Jack Stockwell, Daniel Vidot, Michael Weyman, Damien Cook, Evander
Cummins, Nathan Green, Blake Phillips, Adam Quinlan, Charly
Runciman, Kem Seru, Kyle Stanley, Shannon Wakeman, Jake Marketo,
Michael Lett, Nick Emmett, Gerard Beale, Tyson Frizell, Josh
Drinkwater, Michael Henderson, Bronson Harrison. Sydney
2013 will be a huge year for the Sydney
Roosters. The tri-colours have arguably come away best from the
player market, signing one of the best rugby league/union players
on the planet in Sonny Bill Williams, picking up Michael Jennings
and James Maloney while also resigning Mitchell Pearce for the next
four years. The Roosters will be without Braith Anasta after the
former captain left Bondi to joined the West Tigers. However, the
Roosters still have one of the best rosters in the league with high
profile players such as Mitchell Pearce, Michael Jennings, Sonny
Bill Williams, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Jake Friend and Frank-Paul
Nuuausala. Sydney also has some outstanding young stars in Daniel
Tupou, Boyd Cordner and Roger Tuivasa-Sheck. Prediction:
4th Squad:
Tinirau Arona, Boyd Cordner, Aidan Guerra, Anthony Minichiello,
Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Mitch Aubusson, Jack Bosden, Anthony
Cherrington, Jake Friend, Martin Kennedy, Shaun Kenny-Dowall,
Tautau Moga, Daniel Mortimer, Frank-Paul Nuuausala, Mitchell
Pearce, Tom Symonds, Lama Tasi, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Daniel Tupou,
Josh Ailaomai, Adam Henry, Francis Vaiotu, Jonathan Ford, Steve
Naughton, Willie Mataka, James Maloney, Michael Oldfield, Nafe
Seluini, Samisoni Langi, Sam Moa, Sonny Bill Williams, Michael
Jennings. Wests Tigers The Wests Tigers have
been among the favourites for the NRL premiership over the past few
seasons. However, this 2013 is likely going to be a much different
story. After failing to meet expectations, former coach Tim Sheens
was released at the end of last season, with Mick Potter taking the
reigns. Potter will bring his great English Super League record to
the Tigers, which included a Challenge Cup title in 2007 with the
Catalans Dragons and Super League coach of the year award in 2008
with the same club. Prediction: 12th
Squad: Tim Moltzen, Curtis Sironen, David
Nofoaluma, Matt Bell, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Matt Utai, Blake
Ayshford, Adam Blair, Robbie Farah, Mosese Fotuaika, Liam Fulton,
Keith Galloway, Matt Groat, Chris Lawrence, Benji Marshall, Jacob
Miller, Joel Reddy, Tim Simona, Lote Tuqiri, James Tedesco, Aaron
Woods, Marika Koroibete, Sean Meaney, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Ava
Seumanufagai, Shaun Spence, Sauaso Sue, Alan Schirnack, Braith
Anasta, Masada Iosefa, Eddy Pettybourne, Bodene Thompson, Jack
Buchanan, James Gavet. Twitter: @NickPage99

Make sure you Follow @SportingJournl on Twitter for the latest Sports News & Opinion



Latest News

Related Coverage

Copyright © 2019 The SportingJournal - Australian Sports News & Opinion Web site by Show & Tell - Melbourne, Australia