The SportingJournal

Sydney Swans win premiership in Grand Final thriller

Sydney celebrate premiership. Source: Instagram

The Sydney Swans have been named 2012 AFL Premiers after defeating Hawthorn in a 10 point thriller at the MCG. Sydney defeated the Hawks, 14.7 – 91 to 11.15 – 81, in front of an ecstatic crowd of 99,683.

Coming into the Grand Final as underdogs, Sydney were always going to have to put up a strong fight and break their 15 games losing streak at the MCG to bring home the Premiership flag.

Hawthorn managed to kick the first goal, through Xavier Ellis who managed a quick snap on goals in a congested forward line, giving the Hawks first blood. But it wasn’t long until Sydney got their first major on the board, Nick Malceski taking a brilliant snap on the boundary line to score an incredible goal for the Swans.

Goals from Shoenmakes, Young and Gunston gave the Hawks a 19 point lead going into the first break.

Sydney came out firing at the beginning of the second, Josh Kennedy booted a massive goal from 53 metres out, quickly followed by a goal from Kiren Jack to pull in Hawthorn’s lead to just 7 points.

Co-Captain Adam Goodes was sidelined mid-term to have treatment on a knee injury, though returned later in the quarter after heavy strapping. Goodes returned services help Sydney find another 4 goals to secure a 16 point lead at the main break.

Goals from McVeigh, Reid and Morton left Hawthorn bewildered, only managing to produce 1 behind through Lance Franklin.

The Swans continued their good form in the third kicking another 2 goals to extend their lead to 27 points.

However it wasn’t long until Hawthorn got their act back together. David Hale broke the Hawks goal drought through a free kick. Hale’s heroics inspired the Hawks, Lance ‘Buddy’ Franklin quickly kicked 2 goals in 3 minutes beginning to reel in Sydney’s lead.

Hawthorn continued to kick 3 more goals to enter the fourth quarter down by a narrow 1 point margin.

In a thrilling final quarter Hawthorn continued their golden run. Cyril Rioli and David Hale extended the lead for the Hawks as they began to run away with the premiership.

Though it wasn’t to be, Sydney’s Daniel Hannebery kicked a great running goal to cut the margin to 6 points. Shortly followed by Kiren Jack who successfully controlled a bouncing ball from Mitch Morton to level scores to 78 a piece.

Injured club champion Adam Goodes sent the Swans 7 points in front with just over 5 minutes to go, kicking a goal from a quick snap in the pocket.

It was all Red & White from then onwards, Nick Malckeski sealed the Premiership with a goal in the last 40 seconds.

Ryan O’Keefe was named winner of the Norm Smith Medal, collecting 28 disposals and 15 tackles to take out the honour. Sydney’s 2012 success becomes the club’s 5th ever AFL Premiership, the last another thriller in 2005 against the West Coast Eagles.

Make sure you Follow @SportingJournl on Twitter for the latest Sports News & Opinion



Latest News

Related Coverage

Copyright © 2019 The SportingJournal - Australian Sports News & Opinion Web site by Show & Tell - Melbourne, Australia